Tea Tins!

A while ago, a fellow author told me about this site where you can make custom tea blends and that they were a great idea to help promote your book. (See her blog post here: https://marciamearawrites.com/2015/06/19/promo-ideas-for-signings-attention-tea-lovers/)

I, too, thought it was a great idea, so I filed her suggestion in my mental database. Several years later, I finally got around to creating my own tea blend from Adagio Teas.

First, I needed some art for the tea tins I was going to use as promotion giveaways at book signings and the like. I was at loose ends on how to make/get a design for said tea tin. Honestly, the process was overwhelming–scrolling through DeviantArt left me with a huge wish list for all the art I want to buy when I attain my maybe-someday rich-and-famous status, but no tea tin art. I got equally as lost in trying to navigate a web search for stock photography and/or designers to use to create the art. I got my cover art from CreateSpace but I tried and tried to figure out how to get the pixels reduced to the right size for the tea tin, and finally gave up. For about five minutes, I experimented with trying to make a tea tin art piece myself using some of my own (very nice) photos. “Epic Fail” as pop culture/kids says. They did not look good.

After many, many episodes of swearing, I was just about to give up on the whole thing, when the heavens opened and an angel appeared.

 

Okay, so maybe it wasn’t that dramatic, but, seriously, after the extra special dose of chaos and a very crap week, it sure felt like a miracle.

I got followed by the blogger, Bri Bruce Productions (I always follow people back when they follow me, and go take a look at their blog). So, I can’t remember all the details, but either I found this post when I looked at their blog, or got sent it when I signed up for their mailing list. In any case, it was perfectly serendipitous. Gloriously right-place-right-time, and anything that makes my hellishly chaotic existence just a tiny bit easier is definitely cause for celebrations.

This was the blog post that I was sent/that I viewed: https://bribruceproductions.com/2017/06/14/stock-photography-now-available/.

“Hmm,” I said to myself, because when you work from home, you talk to yourself a lot. “That looks like a possibility.” Then I discovered they do custom design pieces. I decided to talk to them, rather than myself, and I emailed them. I got an email back really fast, saying yes, they could do that with the specs. For a great rate, too!

The tea tin art was fantastic! See the tea tin art (and my custom tea blend), here!

Unfortunately, I wish that my experience with Adagio Teas had gone as well. I accidentally uploaded a photo for the band (on a larger tea box, it’s the photo that goes all the way around the box). I tried and tried, but could not delete the photo. So I emailed them (there’s no other way to contact them). After a lot of miscommunication, and back-and-forth emails, they said they fixed it–by deleting the tea blend, not the photo. Which was even more frustrating because I had ordered the blend already. So, I now had play the same game all over again about the order I had previously placed. My financial institution cautioned me that it probably wasn’t a good idea to purchase products (in the future) from a company that did not have a contact phone number listed on the website. It’s unfortunate, because I still think it’s a really great idea for promotional materials, and I can’t find a similar replacement online–yet.

However, I would definitely use Bri Bruce Productions again, for my design needs. They also do other design projects, like book covers, and book interior design. (I hope I quoted this information correctly–again, it’s been a muddled week.) A big thank you, again, to Bri Bruce Productions for making my life easier (and for being brave enough to work with the Chaos Fairy)!

Check them out here: https://bribruceproductions.com/

 

 

Author: The Chaos Realm

Copy Editor/Proofreader, Historian, Freelance Writer, Virtual Assistant.

8 thoughts on “Tea Tins!”

    1. Hey, thanks for your comment/feedback on my writing style…been practicing, actually! And, yes, I love serenditipity… the universe sometimes even cuts the Chaos Fairy a break!

  1. It’s cool that you’ve made a useful connection even if the project didnt work out as foreseen. The internet can be a shady place but the nice folks make up for it!

  2. I looooove this idea! I spend most of my time writing and drinking teas so WoW! I will be reaseaching more about this. I am currently sat in Citizen M hotel in Tower Hill with Red Velvet cake and Silver Needle Jasmine tea
    Have a great day

Leave a Reply

