Stop moving here to ‘get away from it all’

Yep. I heartily concur. Reblogged from “Who Loves Kitty” blog.

Who Loves Kitty

img_4211

I was reading this fabulous post (and this one, too) by another talented blogger, and it reminded me of the fact that I’ve been harboring similar thoughts.

Over the years, I’ve lived in places where I’ve heard people say that they “moved here to get away from it all”.

I have one word for the people who say this: ugh.

I have another: argh.

And a third one: STOP.

You know the type–these are the annoying suburbia-minded people who move to the outskirts of a metro area, or even further out, into a more rural setting, with the intention of “getting away from it all”.

There are two problems with this type of people:

  • They aren’t cut out for outskirts/rural life. They bring their city/suburban mentality with them, and
  • They tend not to come alone; they usually swarm in in droves, descending upon a quiet little place that was…

View original post 951 more words

Author: Willow Croft

Poet, Writer, Dreamer.

11 thoughts on “Stop moving here to ‘get away from it all’”

  1. So I skimmed that post.
    I moved from suburbia to hollerdom, with 1000’s of empty acres around me and a few neighbors many acres away.
    I didn’t know what I was doing.
    That was nine years ago.
    I had nightmares about what a big mistake I made when we first moved here.
    Now I can’t tolerate places with too many people for too long.
    I wonder why it is that some people devote so much time to criticizing other people?
    Of course, just think about it, the answer is quite obvious.
    It is always so much easier, isn’t it?
    Then focusing on yourself and your own problems.
    My motto is, leave other people alone, unless you can be nice to them.
    You have no idea what they are going through.

    1. I would suggest giving this article a closer reread. Did you demand that the rural area be suburbanized? Or did you, yourself, adapt to the pre-existing rural environment? Do the type of people that this blogger is talking about refrain from criticizing the people that move into the area, and then want everyone to have perfect, tidy, green lawns and other issues? To me, this article is attempting to address the complicated issue of the impact of gentrification and (eventual) suburbanization upon a pre-existing neighbourhood. (See here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Urban_sprawl). Gentrification is a complicated issue, and one that is very personal to me, especially since I’m from Florida, where the local politicans have even violated environmental laws (once, in the building of a ball stadium, a local politician okayed the cutting down of a tree with a bald eagle nest in it, resulting in the disappearance of one of the eagles, and the other was hit by a car.) in favor of developers. When I was growing up, the area east of the interstate was all farmland/rural area, or just plain wilderness. Cows, horses, or even just plain wilderness. So I’ve seen EXACTLY what this blogger is talking about. And guess what it’s replaced with? Starbucks, Super Walmarts, and, seriously, yet another Walgreens, even though there’s one just a few blocks away. IT IS MY PROBLEM. THIS LEVEL OF ENVIRONMENTAL DESTRUCTION AND DEVELOPMENT SHOULD BE EVERYONE’S PROBLEM. The TV show Shameless brought up this very same complicated issue of gentrification, and they did an even darker/blacker spin on it. Truthfully, I am a nice person, but even I don’t care what those suburbanites are going through. I don’t agree with using Roundup, or maintaining a toxic green lawn with pesticides/fertilizer and/or whatever other chemicals they use. Not when our area of the Gulf went from having Red Tide once or twice a year to having it almost year round. Not to having a dead zone in the Gulf. ot from going out to the beach for my regular walk at night (1990s) and skirting piles of algae only to realize it wasn’t all algae but hundreds of dead birds littering the beach (seagulls, etc.) and, despite me reporting it to the news, went completely unmentioned. Futhermore, IT IS SOMETHING THAT HAS DIRECTLY IMPACTED ME AND MY FAMILY AND MY CHILDHOOD HOME AND NEIGHBOURHOOD. And broken my heart while I’m at it. Seeing trees that I climbed in as a child–oaks hundreds of years old fall to the chainsaw. Absolutely devastating. I can not even describe the loss that I felt seeing these beauties come down. This guy in my neighbourhood moved in, and illegally chopped down one of those hundred-year old oaks and just paid the fine–all because he wanted to re-landscape his lawn to something more trendy. Based on your blog, I like think you might be different, Cindy. That you would come in and soon learn to appreciate all the local lore and the animals and hundred-year old oaks and let me talk to you about the house that’s still called the Bell house, even though the Bells haven’t lived there for about thirty years, or the cardinals that nest in the thicket by our garage, or the hawks that nest in the tree every year or the bamboo that’s over fifty years old. And our neighbourhood that isn’t even rural but still has an ungentrified feel to it. But I can’t. Because (like I mentioned above) it started to be gentrified. What the blogger is describing above is exactly what started to happen in our neighbourhood. One of the last holdouts in the city. A house that was built in 1925 met the wrecking ball for a house built property-line-to-property-line. Did I mention that in addition to styling myself an environmentalist, I am also a strong believer in historic preservation and local history (so much so that I went back to school late in life to get a Masters in public history). So, yes, it is deeply personal. And, no, even though I am no longer living in Sarasota. My family had someplace else to go, luckily. But what about all those people being displaced that have nowhere to go and can’t afford to relocate. The only way I was able to get out is that I piggybacked off my parents’ move. Others aren’t so lucky, but I don’t see you having any sympathy for them. (See the links about gentrification at the bottom of this comment.) I will not leave these type of people alone. Repeat: I will not leave the people alone who moved into this now uber-fancy subruban development and got fed up that the birds in a rookery ( a bird nursery) were making so much noise that they FIRED FIREWORKS INTO THE ROOKERY. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2306348/Oaks-Club-Residents-private-country-club-shooting-fireworks-rookeries-scare-protected-birds.html . So, no, it is not easier to speak out. It’s scary to put yourself out there and open yourself up to precisely such attacks as yours. But I will never stop caring about animals and trees and the natural part of the planet. I will never just bury my head in the sand and just “focus on myself and my own problems”. That’s why the world is such a mess. Why we have climate change and extinction and so many other problems on this sinking ship of a planet. Because me and so many other humans just selfishly focused on our own problems and didn’t worry about the big picture. So much so, that I still have to fight against societal conditioning to be self-absorbed. Because I do care. I care so much it hurts me deep inside. And I will NEVER stop. Even if that means being coldly critical just to get people to wake up and smell the coffee. Because these issues are important to me. (And, by the way, Shameless the TV show shed light on the very same issue of gentrification, and, in fitting with the show’s theme, they did it even darker/blacker. So, feel free to call them out while you’re at it. Here’s some links about the impact of gentrification https://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2015/09/this-is-what-happens-after-a-neighborhood-gets-gentrified/432813/ and http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Gentrification.) Would you have any like sympathy for the people forced out of their homes and have nowhere to go? What about the wildlife that has been displaced? I fully stand behind this blogger, this blog post that I reblogged, and everything in it.

      1. Thank you very very much, The Chaos Realm, for seeing the true meaning behind my post. I could not have written a better response than you did! Five stars to you, my friend 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟👍🏼☮

Leave a Reply

