Packin’ Up

 

Packin’ Up

What do I bring

on this once-in-a-lifetime voyage?

Do I take the pieces of my broken mind

or my too-sensitive heart

that people love to rip apart

or my inside soul that

hasn’t stood the test of time.

Nobody else wants this stuff,

so why should I?

I’ll just reinvent myself

from scratch

good at math

ambitious

loveable

succcessful

excel at science, or better yet,

be good at something that pays bills.

Stuff that makes me worthwhile, in the eyes

of society, or maybe for just one person

out there somewhere, in another life.

My suitcase is almost full, but still

I sneak in foolish things

like my imprisoned childhood creativity,

a beloved stuffed animal, or even ten, and

last but not least, my love for sentient

animals and plants,

just in case I have the chance

to be both me, and

someone new and improved.

 

Author: The Chaos Realm

Copy Editor/Proofreader, Historian, Freelance Writer, Virtual Assistant.

13 thoughts on “Packin’ Up”

Leave a Reply

