The Flat-Out Terror of Getting Published

Okay, dear readers, it’s official. I am going to be a published poet/author. Granted, my poetry book is self-published, but’s still putting my written word out there.

Sometime this March May (thanks, Trent’s World, for noticing that/commenting on it! 🙂 ), my poems will be released (inflicted?) upon the world. Brace yourselves!

Will keep you posted re: author website, promotional events/goodies and all that fun stuff.

Thanks for being along with the ride!

Author: The Chaos Realm

Copy Editor/Proofreader, Historian, Freelance Writer, Virtual Assistant.

44 thoughts on “The Flat-Out Terror of Getting Published”

      1. I was wondering if you had a time machine 😉 I did my first self-publish this year. As long as you don’t expect too much, it is a good experience.

      2. The biggest one, when you’re ready to publish, stop, wait and review. I had to do a dozen revisions after I published and I think I am still missing two paragraphs on my Kindle edition (the pages don’t add up…) So patience is the biggest tip. (It will never ever be perfect and with self-publishing, you can go back and fix things)

      3. Oh yeah, I revised it and checked it and edited it a thousand times. And I was still doing at least five more edit checks in the week up to the publishing submittal.

  1. Yes. Go for it. Self publishing help me a great deal. I am still putting finihing touches in my first book and I’ve learned how to do better for my second book

  2. Congratulations! If you’re ever struggling to get your book out there and want to make more sales, you can always visit http://www.storytelleralley.com/users/emilyw, a new start-up website that seeks to promote new books like yours! We don’t as of yet have any poetry books on site, so this would be a great addition! It’s free, quick and easy, and will hopefully earn you a lot more sales! Congrats again on the book, it sounds great!

    1. Apply for your copyright, first thing. Make sure your manuscript is clean, editorially. Edit , edit, and edit again. Even I missed something on my own manuscript and didn’t realize it until the very last minute and I’m a great editor. Plus there’s tons of writing contests for poets if you want to try being published the traditional route first. Also, attend local poetry readings. Get a copy of Writer’s Market/Poet’s Market for contests and such.

Leave a Reply

