Too Much Football and Not Enough Jeans…

 

As you probably know, there’s a lot of football on this weekend.

I have no idea what to write about, as I’m mostly watching football, and preoccupied with a bunch of other things.

(In my next life, I’m definitely coming back as a football player. Or a roller derby-er. *laugh*)

I’ve been thinking about clothes, lately. No idea why…not really the well-dressed type (sans a stint with the goth club social scene).

Even then, I went the vintage route. Generally 30s, 40s, 50s clothing handed down. Every so often, though, I’d break out the silver latex or the…1970s?…mustard yellow floor-length gown with a blue-and-pink beaded jacket. (I still have it, but all the other stuff? It’s was like size 0-2…too damn small these days.)

I kept the vintage velvet jackets, though. Most of them still fit.

I pretty much just wear t-shirts (the more sustainable/locally-made/anti-sweatshop/nontoxic, the better) and jeans, but for dressing up? Will probably go the more tailored route…(if I can ever find pants that actually fit right. C’mon, pants designers, are you all on crack in your requisite studios?!?!). Some of the clothing sites that offer a tomboy look are intriguing. (http://www.wildfang.com/http://askatomboy.blogspot.com/2014/10/10-tomboy-clothing-companies-you-didnt.html. Got others? Post up in the comments! ) I would love to find a style I can pair with these amazing bow ties that are made in Vermont. http://www.beautiesltd.com/

But you have to have money. Lots of it. And there’s still the problem of reduce, re-use, recycle, and the question of organic/sustainability of the materials.

Pants and jeans buying used to be so simple. Just go to the store, buy a pair without even trying it on, and come home. Now it’s absolutely grueling.

I hate shopping, but one day I literally had to try on over a hundred pairs of jeans. I never go to stores and try to avoid getting brand-new, but I was desperate. Since, now, I can’t even find pants that fit at thrift stores….my wonderful fail safe. (They’re probably all snapped up by the other 99.9 percent of women out there who also can’t find a damn pair of jeans that fit right.)

So, as part of this environmental revolution, clothes anarchy might just be a part of it. If us pantless women have anything to say about it. But, hell, let’s just go naked!

Shop Thrift!

(Or, find a local Drop-and-Swap event near you.)

 

Author: The Chaos Realm

Copy Editor/Proofreader, Historian, Freelance Writer, Virtual Assistant.

2 thoughts on “Too Much Football and Not Enough Jeans…”

  1. Sadly here in Malaysia we don’t have any thrift stores!! There’s barely any here and the most decent options are brands like Padini Concept Store, Cotton On, H&M etc. (That Ik! Is part of the terrible fashion industry that’s a big factor to environmental problem! But what choice do I have?? Plus, the clothes lasts for years anyway. I still wear the shorts I’ve got 5 years ago) HECK, they’re not even cheap either. A frigging basic shirt in H&M can go up to RM50. BLARGH. I’d be so happy if there were thrift stores

Leave a Reply

