On Religion and Hate…

 

Yep, the Chaos Fairy definitely has moments of misanthropy (you guys know that), but I just don’t get the extended duration of religion-based hatred and intolerance. [I’ve been thinking about it lately, especially with all of Trump’s insanity (and that of his followers) flying around the internet].

Part of  today’s blog entry was also inspired by the fact that I got to go to the New Mexico History Museum on a guest pass today (to the awesome low-rider exhibit!) and viewed the “Fractured Faiths: Spanish Judaism, The Inquisition, and New World Identities” exhibit as well.

It’s just so crazy the extent people go to in the name of their religion. Yes, you can dissect (as an academic historian, I have) the social and political trends (from a historical/historian’s perspective) that also help foster said intolerance, but it’s still astounding, especially standing there reading the names on the exhibit’s wall of people burned at the stake or even burned in effigy (because they managed to escape), or even just had their bones burned. (You should check out the exhibit, btw.)

Not to trivialize the often-horrifying fate of past and present/modern victims of religious-fueled hatred, but, holy crap (no pun intended), it just seems so immature. Like a pissing contest among (all the major) religions’ overzealous purveyors–I just envision wee children on a playground taunting each other–or I would if the consequences weren’t horribly lethal and sick in their level of hatred.

The fact that these are fully grown, mature adults, with the full force of political or social power, governments, (in charge of) whole countries, and/or armies/weapons at their fingertips (still!), playing this game of religious dominance–that just astounds me. And terrifies me. It’s embodied by Trump in the current climate, even though it’s been permeating our culture and our world for a long time (I know that).

Why can’t you just have your God/Goddess/Multitude of deities/Spiritual beliefs and I have mine? Or the freedom not to have any, since science has shown there’s really nothing up in the firmament anyway, (or in the higher regions of Earth) so…what’s the big deal if I want to worship some earth-mother-goddess force and your god the only male. It’s just a different definition/view on the same godlike essence. Respect, tolerance, knowledge, and love is at the core of most religions anyway (from what I’ve read so far)–it’s just the followers of said religion who have twisted it to suit their human agendas.

That’s what I think. Feel free to disagree–that’s your prerogative. Just don’t use it as an excuse to hatemonger. Or call out for my execution. (I’ll probably be reincarnated, anyway. So there. LOL)

 

Author: The Chaos Realm

Copy Editor/Proofreader, Historian, Freelance Writer, Virtual Assistant.

8 thoughts on “On Religion and Hate…”

  1. I would very much like to see the Exhibit Fractured Faiths. Do you know if it will be touring?

    Your post is most timely for me as I am at the moment reading “The Battle for God”, by British Scholar Karen Armstrong. Does anyone know this book? I have always been curious about the different faiths and this is an excellent way to learn and gain some understanding.

    Yes, Religion is terribly frightening because it should be about compassion, but it teaches us intolerance, and has done so through the centuries.

    I will say no more as I do not wish to offend anyone. I recommend highly Dr. Armstrong’s books.

      1. Ha, yesterday I was just thinking…”I should make reviews of exhibits” (exhibits in general) a regular feature on my blog. Put my degree to use in some way, if it won’t get me the regular employment I hoped for LOL

  2. A few comments. I agree with most of what you’ve said, but:

    I’ve just finished reading Mary Beard on the Romans (SPQR) and their world was every bit as cruel as anything we’ve thought up, and yet cultured and civilised, and their attitude to religion (before Christianity came along and refused emperor-worship) was very much live and let live. They tortured for other reasons. A lot of negative things attributed to religion are largely down to non-religious factors – for example, the overwhelming majority of wars are about land and most of the rest are about other resources (oil, say) or power-politics (winning support at home by hopefully winning wars abroad). We can also easily forget that religion fuelled many revolts against injustice, the anti-slavery movement in the US and the Caribbean, the building of cathedrals and the Taj Mahal (yes, also a monument to love, but why separate the two?).

    There are murderous religious zealots, but they seem mostly to be vulnerable people with low self-regard who get picked up and given a sense of worth and security by other religious extremists. In Germany in the 1930s they’d have been Nazis. In other words, religion is one of the forces that can lend itself to murderous extremism, but the state of mind can attach itself to many different ideologies. I recently asked someone in a pub who was going on about Muslim extremism if the Irish Republican Army (in its days of bombing civilians) was Muslim. Conversely, I’ve seen many gatherings of people of different faiths who feel united by their faith and spirituality across traditional boundaries.

    Oh, and I feel fellow-feeling over your love of peace and military tactics and strategy. I’m a Quaker and I just find complex decision-making under stress fascinating. That’s my excuse.

Leave a Reply

