Sustainable Communities and Hippie…Communes?

 

Blog Theme Song: The Smiths “Unloveable”

I kinda grew up around punks and goths and street kids (when I wasn’t around theatre people), so I only had a brief immersion with the hippie subculture.

The few times I was around a lot of hippies, they were REALLY mean. Manipulative, intolerant, discriminatory, and sometimes even downright cruel. Especially hippie guys–and they were really sexist, to boot. (I should say, the younger generation(s) of hippies.) It was such a confusing paradox, especially since the entire movement seemed geared towards peace, love and acceptance. I just couldn’t figure it out.

Yet, I do have a lot of hippie-esque qualities, if stereotypes are anything to go by, but even surrounded by green hippies in a hippie college in Vermont–I still managed to not fit in.

I guess I’ve been thinking about this, lately, because I don’t really seem to make friends easily, and have always been kinda a social misfit, even within the inclusive shelter of goth/punk scene. I’m not sure exactly why, yet (still trying to figure it out)–whether it’s bad people skills (but I’m great at customer service jobs), or introversion, social awkwardness, inherently a loner, or just the luck of the Chaos Fairy, I really don’t know. I mean, animals like me, for the most part, so I can’t be all bad, right? *laugh* Even wild animals and  domesticated animals who aren’t comfortable with strangers–they tend to be drawn to me. Which is helpful when rescuing hawk babies, spiders, orphaned raccoon babies, jaywalking turtles, or stray cats, dogs, rabbits, etc.

So, I’m not really unlikable, I don’t think, for somebody who is often disliked or misunderstood. Animals are great judges of character,  don’t you think?

Anyway, enough with the self-indulgent moping.

For Sustainable Saturday, I decided to make a list of some socially and eco-conscious (or, other off-the-grid) planned communities, in case you want to escape the suburban mania and live a more…connected?…life. And, if you find your utopia, will you save a place at the community table for a mixed-up Chaos Fairy? I’ll bring some old-world fairy magic! *laugh*

Lost Valley

http://hippybloggers.com/want-to-live-a-simpler-life-so-did-they-check-out-these-modern-alternative-communities-that-exist-today/

Hippie Havens

http://www.theplaidzebra.com/the-last-free-place-in-america/

Lasqueti Island

http://www.ic.org/directory/communes/

Christiana

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/08/21/utopias_n_3768023.html

 

 

 

Author: The Chaos Realm

Copy Editor/Proofreader, Historian, Freelance Writer, Virtual Assistant.

12 thoughts on “Sustainable Communities and Hippie…Communes?”

  1. I can absolutely relate to this post! I’ve never been able to understand why hippie men are such A-holes. I never fitted into ‘straight’ society and I live in a rural community where people try to follow a more alternative lifestyle. Many of them are good people, but some can be as gossipy and bitchy as on any suburban housing estate!

    1. Hahaha! Glad I’m not the only one… 😉 Where I’m at is very rural compared to what I’m used to, but they act like the complex is some sort of gated suburban community. I’m like “why live here, then?” Frickin’ move into the city! LOL Guess there really is no utopia, right? LOL

      1. Lol..that was kinda a joke…some of the punks I knew were still a little…hard-edged (myself included, back in the day–well, at least I looked intimidating LOL)

  2. Don’t underestimate the ability of animals to judge a person’s character. I once got a baby-sitting job based primarily on how the family dog responded to me. No kidding. Social misfits tend to over-compensate for assholes by considering awkward dynamics as a sole reflection on themselves. We can only own a smidgen of the dynamic. Unfortunately 🙂

  3. I do not quite understand your term, Social Misfit.

    NOt Fitting In is an Accomplishment!

    I don’t want to fit in, just like I don’t want to live in a new Subdivision of beige houses with rows of gas barbecues on identical decks… I don’t want to be part of a commune either. Too many people… there is bound to be be a creep in that crowd…

    I grew up in the late sixties/seventies with the gorgeous music of the Beach Boys and the Beatles. :(Yes, I am old and so happy about it…) Hippies, grass, acid were everywhere and I only have good memories of those times. The guys were very sweet and the girls were too spaced out to be bitchy. There was nothing to worry about, if you had good old common sense.

    Now we live in a time where people boast about how many” friends” they have thanks to Social Media. It is a lot of nonsense. If you have one good friend in your life, you are doing beautifully, but remember that your best friend will always be YOU.

Leave a Reply

