Save-the-Planet Cleaning

So, it’s time for my weekly cleaning. Not really a big fan of cleaning, and am about ready to eschew the domestic thing altogether for a cave in the woods. Or a small trailer. (Road trip!!!! Who wants to come?)

So, yes, I do try to use non-toxic and eco-friendly cleaning supplies and methods, even though it feels so ineffective–like I’m just sitting back and watching us humans destroy the world. (Barely any rain during NM’s monsoon season–but there’s no such thing as climate change, of course. :-p)

Though, the skeptic in me is a little distrustful of the whole “greenwashing” movement of supposed eco-friendly cleaners out there. And some have been bought out by the same makers of toxic cleaning projects.

So, I am transitioning into using white vinegar for cleaning everything from floors to surfaces. You can put fresh herbs into a big bottle of vinegar to give it an extra smell. Or a hippie/new-age cleansing of your livespace.

http://learningherbs.com/remedies-recipes/homemade-cleaning-recipes/

http://www.rodalesorganiclife.com/wellbeing/herbs-cleaning

https://www.bulkherbstore.com/blog/post/rosemary-infused-vinegar-for-cleaning-the-home/

Other stuff I use for now:

Ecover Floor Soap

Ecover Pink Geranium Dish Soap (no mocking allowed *laugh*)

Ecos Lemongrass Laundry Soap

Okay, off to green clean!

Whee.

 

Author: The Chaos Realm

Copy Editor/Proofreader, Historian, Freelance Writer, Virtual Assistant.

7 thoughts on “Save-the-Planet Cleaning”

      1. Jeez, you haven’t had good luck. I’ve seen this advertised, but haven’t tried it. It says it’s green-ish. http://www.jelmar.com/CLRbath.htm

        I put a drop of ecover and let the dishes soak for a brief time and don’t even have to scrub. Course I soak the dishes and don’t let them sit.

        I like white vinegar for cleaning everything from kitchen surfaces to tub to floors…you can even wash clothes with it (it said so on one of the vinegar links). If you’ve tried ecover, I’m sure you’ve tried all the rest.

        What about the old-fashioned standby: https://www.20muleteamlaundry.com/

      2. Don’t feel obligated to remember, but if you try that CLR stuff, maybe let me know how it works out. Where I’m living has…hard?…water–first time for me with this kind of water.

Leave a Reply

