Mix (Cassette) Tapes

 

Rob: The making of a great compilation tape, like breaking up, is hard to do and takes ages longer than it might seem. You gotta kick off with a killer, to grab attention. Then you got to take it up a notch, but you don’t wanna blow your wad, so then you got to cool it off a notch. There are a lot of rules. Anyway… I’ve started to make a tape… in my head… for Laura. Full of stuff she likes. Full of stuff that makes her happy. For the first time I can sort of see how that is done.–High Fidelity 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I love making mix tapes. As in on actual cassette tapes. I still like to make mixes, but it just doesn’t have the same…magic? (After all, I grew up with records and 8-tracks so I guess I could claim that as an excuse. And, the era of dedicating songs to others on the radio.)

I have mix tapes that were made for me years ago. They still play. Some of them I can’t even listen to because the memories are so overpowering. But they’re there. Like little ghosts that whisper “Hey, once upon a time someone loved you.” They make me feel both less alone and yet lonely–missing the people that made them (mostly, to be honest). But I can’t get rid of them.

I guess it’s good I don’t have anyone to make mix-tapes for, currently. I can see handing them a cassette tape and them thinking “What the f**k am I supposed to do with this?” *laughs* (If that didn’t put them off, I’m pretty sure a mix made from my old-school goth/punk/industrial/alternative selections would.)

A while ago, somebody made me a mix-tape online, which I wasn’t really too fond of (see above quote from High Fidelity), but the method was interesting. I think it was called “Everyone’s Mix-Tape” but I don’t really remember, and I couldn’t find it online anymore.

Anyway, enough chatter. I posted a link on more current ways (maybe?) to make a mix-tape for someone. Share (in the comments below) if you have more modern ways to make mix-tapes–they’re definitely needed! *smiles*

http://www.wired.com/2009/10/best-8-ways-to-share-mix-tapes/

And, found this on how to make a mix-tape cover using Photoshop: http://www.mixtapecoverhq.com/

Happy Monday!

 

 

 

 

Author: Willow Croft

Poet, Writer, Dreamer.

2 thoughts on “Mix (Cassette) Tapes”

Leave a Reply

