Nostalgia Infects the Chaos Realm…

Arrgh. Nostalgia. It’s this weird blend of enjoyable moping overlaid with futile regret.

Then I was reading through the latest posts from blogs I follow, and found one blog, Movierob, starting a new series about their “movie memories“.

I almost wish I could have my memories wiped as depicted in Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (one of my favourite movies).

As always, I try to walk the fine line between getting too personal on the blog, while sharing stuff that I care about, or go through. Is that falling into the narcissist trap? I don’t know.

Anyway, here’s a listing of some of nostalgia-based time travel trips I’ve been taking lately.

  • U2’s Achtung Baby! tour–my first big stadium concert–a fabulous experience! Started reminiscing about the concert while listening to U2 on iTunes the other day.
  • The Cure’s Wild Mood Swings concert! An event I won’t ever forget. It actually turned out to be really magical and serendipitous! Actuallly, The Cure has always been a strong source of inspiration and other-worldliness in my life–since I was about 14 or so. It’s cheesy, but they still remain one of my imagination/dreamy touchstones. So, when I went to the concert, and it was (mostly) just as magical and serendiptious (which still persists to this day), it confirmed that what I had felt all those years was “real” in a manner of speaking. Very validating experience.
  • Seeing my first, and only, green flash at sunset, at, fittingly, what used to be known as Sunset on Siesta Key. We used to all congregate there and have an impromptu drum circle right at Sunset on Sundays. But the local powers that be kowtowed to complaining, rich, out-of-state condo owners and they banned all parking and gatherings at the pier there. There’s still a drum circle on Siesta Beach on Sundays, but to me it lacks a certain joie de vivre. It’s just too…organized? Planned? Structured? It just doesn’t feel as spontaneous as it used to.
  • Opals. I’m not much of a jewelry/gem person, even though I like geology and rocks. I blame reading The Black Opal by Victoria Holt when I was a kid.
  • Trixie Belden book series. She seems to have fallen by the wayside in modern-day children’s books reprints, as opposed to Nancy Drew.
  • Whoopi Goldberg in Jumpin’ Jack Flash. I loved her in this movie. She was smart and eccentric, and she didn’t take any sh*t from people. One of my childhood mentors.
  • Audre Lorde’s The Black Unicorn. Helped me when I felt really alienated from others in middle school
  • Mrs. Redding. A middle school teacher that introduced me to classics from Hurston, Lorde, Dove, Hughes, Walker–when everyone else at the school was saying I was retarded.
  • Shop class at Sarasota Middle School. The teacher was really encouraging, and was kinda a mentor. I was the only girl in the class, (school officials at Sarasota but he took me under his wing. He liked that I took the class seriously, and helped me gain a little bit of confidence in myself.
  • The Theatre. Without the theatre (building sets, running lights, ushering, running box office, teaching drama to younger kids), I would have really been lost growing up. School was not challenging, intellectually, and I struggled with the conformist environment of standardized public education–to the point where I skipped about 90% of school. Even though I managed to still graduate with a 3.0 and got my diploma, I consider the theatre environment to have been my real education. That, and reading books in a undetectable hiding spot at school, when I couldn’t get off the grounds.
  • The Carefree Learner. This was a boat that we got to take field trips on to monitor the ecology of the bay. It was awesome. Real life science!

What about you? Have you been waxing nostalgic about the rose-coloured past lately? If so, share your experiences in the comments below!

Have a relaxing Sunday!

Author: The Chaos Realm

Copy Editor/Proofreader, Historian, Freelance Writer, Virtual Assistant.

10 thoughts on “Nostalgia Infects the Chaos Realm…”

  1. I have been waxing nostalgic particularly as I seek a topic for my Throwback Thursday blog each week. But I want to say the one item on your list that really struck me was the Trixie Belden book series. I loved those books!

    1. To this day (I first read them in middle school in the 80s), I cannot watch any of the Tolkien movies, because my memories/mental movies of the Tolkien series are still so powerful.

  2. My nostalgia gets to things like the relatively-early days of Usenet, which is so nerdy a thing to feel nostalgic about it’s embarrassing. Don’t let anybody hear.

    1. Too late! I must have missed Usenet…don’t even think I knew what that was…but I grew up in the 80s, so…? Something about it’s a little familiar re: newsfeeds, but I didn’t really get into computers until the…90s…with mIRC? We just used computers to play Zork.

Leave a Reply

