Old vs. New: Preserving the Past, or Time to Let Go?

From National Treasure (http://www.imdb.com/character/ch0007102/quotes):

Riley Poole: For the record, Ben, I like the house.
Ben Gates: You know, I chose this estate because in 1812 Charles Carroll met…
Riley Poole: Yeah, someone that did something in history and had fun. Great. Wonderful.
[puts on a pair of sunglasses and starts the car]
Riley Poole: Could have had a bigger house.
[drives away]

By now, many of you might know that I fall on the preservation side of things. I get so annoyed with the couples on House Hunters who all parrot the same thing: “brand-new house”, “open floor plan”, “stainless steel appliances” etc, etc.; just so they can make believe they are some sort of suburban-based royalty. Or the expats who move to another country, yet they want a house “just like we had back in America”. Then why didn’t they stay the “f” in America? Why even bother moving to a new country, if you’re not going to immerse yourself in the local environment?!?! GO HOME!

Yes, shows like House Hunters and House Hunters International are staged, but it really does seem to reflect the mentality of people out there, these days. I just don’t understand it, and I don’t even want to understand it, truthfully. It’s one area that I’m just not willing to be open-minded about. Why do people want a house that looks like every other house–a house with zero character, no stories, no history, no ghosts, no distinctive charm?!?! It’s a complete mystery to me–leaves me baffled to no end.

From Doctor Who‘s “Blink” episode (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1000252/quotes)

Kathy Nightingale: What did you come here for, anyway?
Sally Sparrow: I love old things. They make me feel sad.
Kathy Nightingale: What’s good about sad?
Sally Sparrow: It’s happy for deep people.

Myself, I love vintage furniture, and whenever I can, I try to furnish my livespace with family hand-me-downs and vintage (or not-so-vintage) items from thrift & antique stores, and garage sales. One of my “cherished illusions” is to have a vintage home that I can save and restore–preferably one with a bit of land that has lots of old trees and other tangly growth on it.

For wishful-thinking fun, I often browse this website, looking for amazing properties I wish I could afford. See any lovelies you want to add to your wish list, blog readers?

http://historicrealestate.preservationnation.org/

Despite the $$$ issue, owning a house probably wouldn’t be practical for my lifestyle, but I can still dream. In the meantime, I’m checking out vintage apartments in my potential “move-to” locales that are just amazing. Art Deco, Victorian, Colonial–you’d be surprised at what’s out there! Try a search for historic or vintage apartments and your locale, and see what rental properties might be available in your area of the world!

So, where do the rest of you bloggers/blog readers out there fall on the preservation spectrum? Old fixer-upper, or brand-new McMansion? Thrift stores, or Walmart? Please share comments below!

Author: The Chaos Realm

Copy Editor/Proofreader, Historian, Freelance Writer, Virtual Assistant.

6 thoughts on “Old vs. New: Preserving the Past, or Time to Let Go?”

  1. An older “home” is generally built to last. Vintage furniture has history. I love touching old furniture. Each has a history…a story.

  2. Henry is, believe it or not, a master craftsman and as such has a fully fledged membership to the guild of such order. So, to transform the derelict in to a contemporary home, is, rather satisfying. However, these days I can’t be bothered. Now I prefer to move into the shit pre-fab houses they throw up wherever the cow doth lay.
    That is my answer

    HG

    1. *laugh* Thanks for commenting! That’s why I called it a “cherished illusion” of mine–to have a vintage home. Definitely takes patience–and $$$. Which is why I might choose the revamped Spartan trailer route, or something! 🙂

Leave a Reply

