Getting Ready for Blog Reboot, But…

…I need some tips re: time management in reading others’ blogs. I love reading them (<–avid reader), but I started to get overwhelmed. I have ADHD, so time management tends to be an issue with me to begin with, plus I am cursed with wanting to do, read, and know everything! I’ve researched a TON of linksย online, and also got some books from the library and think I have some ideas to start with, but always welcome fresh insight. ย ๐Ÿ™‚

The wonderful, and gracious,ย Somber Scribbler offered up some great tips already on how to cope with the blog-reading process, but I thought I’d open it up to my other equally fantasticย readers! Thanks, everyone!

Here goes!

Author: The Chaos Realm

Copy Editor/Proofreader, Historian, Freelance Writer, Virtual Assistant.

46 thoughts on “Getting Ready for Blog Reboot, But…”

    1. Glad I’m not the only one. I’m so hard on myself LOL. So much to read, so little time…! I wish we could just “jack in” and download all the content straight to our brains. Kinda like in Johnny Mnemonic. *laugh*

  1. I was having a similar problem as I have Dyspraxia and part of the symptoms are very similar to ADD. I unfollowed blogs that I always seem to skim past and never comment on. Then I subscribed by email to each individual blog I read regularly. Then I planned which part of my day/week I would set aside for reading blogs. Hope it helps! x

  2. I find that if I don’t keep up with blogs throughout the day, I get way behind even after just one day. So I read blogs in the WP Reader and at least like there then go back to comment later if I didn’t get to comment when I “liked” it.

    There are also some blogs that post mostly photos and those I either just don’t look at when I’m behind or hit all of those and not the texty ones if I’m in a hurry. At least that way I can stay a little more on target.

    The other option, which I’ve not tried yet, is to maybe read blogs starting with A through L on one day and the rest on another day. Alternate the days you read each blog. That will cut it down, too. (Except mine. You have to read that every day! LOL)

    1. Some great suggestions! I really should utilize WP reader more. I went through my blogroll (right term? LOL) list yesterday and sadly for the bloggers but lucky for me, some had gone off the air. I just love reading way too much–I guess reading blogs is my “timesucker” form of social media *laugh*. And, don’t worry, you made the cut! I still follow all the blogs I’ve signed up to follow, but I chose which ones to receive notifications by email and which to read more casually in the WP Reader. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Oh goodness, I just don’t follow blogs I don’t find interesting. I use the WP Reader and if I find I’ve been scrolling past blogs and not interested in them anymore, then I unfollow. I also find a time where I have a slow period and just binge read all the blogs then. I probably read blogs only once or twice a week.

    1. That’s a good approach. It’s just hard because I have a severe reading addiction LOL! I’ll read anything just to read…menus, signs…*laugh* But if I find myself just scrolling through, like you said, I’ll discontinue my email notifications. And try not to feel so guilty about it ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I recommend using Bloglovin’. You can categorize blogs based on theme/platform, to help get things more efficient. For instance, my blog this year is categorized by A-Z WordPress, A-Z Blogger, etc. Also, for A-Z, I would just mark all blogs “read” that you couldn’t get to in time. That way things don’t pile up to monstrous levels.

      1. Lol, I know that trouble! I’ve stopped handwriting story notes, because I write too fast and can never make it out later. ๐Ÿ˜›

  5. I find it’s efficient to just let the number of blogs I mean to read pile up to a number too much to actually do, and then to glance at a couple promising-looking paragraphs of each piece. Then hit ‘like’ on everything and on every third blog or so offer some relatively safe comment like ‘Oh, neat. Huh.’

  6. Just do your best and don’t feel you have to read everyone’s posts (there’s not enough time in the day). Also, as long as you blog once a week, you will be fine ๐Ÿ™‚ If you want to blog more, go for it, but if not that’s okay too.

    1. Ha, I do feel like I have to read everybody’s posts! ๐Ÿ™‚ And, re: blogging daily vs once a week…blogging daily means flooding everybody else’s reader LOL. Thanks for commenting!

  7. Establish a schedule and stick to it. I try and attend to my Twitter account at night while I’m watching TV because I can do both at the same time. I usually read blogs and do a blog post of my own on Fridays. For FB, I usually just go through my notifications. I don’t scroll my wall unless I have free time. I find if I don’t stick to my schedule it is very easy to get overwhelmed and spend all my time online.

    1. Yeah, I usually use TV time for catching up on stuff. Lately, though, my typical multitasking state is short-circuiting…hopefully it’s just because I have too much going on right now. What’s your schedule (generally speaking) consist of?

  8. This is a challenge for all of us. ๐Ÿ™‚ I tend to set aside a few mementos here and there to read and respond, and then allocate more time on weekends. I am still often behind. Other bloggers understand this though as they too are fighting this uphill battle. Just do your best and don’t feel guilty or let it overwhelm you. Some bloggers are so prolific with their posting that I can never totally catch up (blog posts several times per day!). In those instances, I decide which of their offerings I will read and comment on. Lord knows, we can’t do it all no matter how much we’d like to!

  9. i came over to your blog from Suzie81’s blogging party and this post caught my eye. I am a fairly new blogger (only 3 months old) and I was not expecting how caught up I would be in enjoying the many and varied blogs. I also have time management issues because I could easily spend all my time with blogging and never do anything else. For myself I won’t bother with blogs that are just plain visually hard to read; those that are filled with gratuitous profanity – I’m not really offended but if that style is the only way they can express themselves I am just not going to love it; It seems like I could mention several other things but instead I might just have to do a post about this on my own blog. I will enjoy looking at more of your blog and thus increase the problem I have with blog time management.;

    1. NCIS Quote(s) from IMDB:

      Abby Sciuto: It’s more addictive than pistachios.
      [Odd looks from Gibbs and McGee]
      Abby Sciuto: Well, have you ever just eaten one pistachio?

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! And LOL at increasing your problem with blog time management! I, myself, was also surprised at how addictive it was reading all these blogs. I really get sucked into it, and the whole morning drifts by! I’ll keep an eye out for your blog post about time management, and more!

  10. Hi,
    I came over to thank you for following my blog this weekend. Sorry I didn’t have a chance to get over sooner. What an engaged community you have!
    I saw your request for time-management tips in your post. Here you go:
    http://wp.me/p5jxvv-g9
    http://wp.me/p5jxvv-uM
    http://wp.me/p5jxvv-ES This one is how to write headlines quicker
    I have many more at Reflections like how to make infographics in 5 minutes.
    Here is the link back there: http://wp.me/P5jxvv-1
    Once again, thank you for the follow. Welcome to my blog.
    Janice

  11. Abby Sciuto is one of my favorite “misfits” which is not the appropriate word to describe her because she is great. Love the quote. i started working on my post–it might end up being a list on Tuesday.

  12. i have this thing -i blame old age- i start reading and then something sends me off on a tangent somewhere and it takes an act of the Goddess to get me back on track so i don’t always make comments like i intend to but i try to read at least 5 or 6 pieces a day besides my emails and at least hit a like button before i get sidetracked. love you and you mind

  13. Hi!
    Thank you for your visit to my site this morning. I’m glad you liked my new post about photography. Thanks as well for the help on Twitter.
    Janice

Leave a Reply

