New Movies=Bland Acting?

Pet peeve(s)/Rant about movie/TV show acting/script, etc.

Lately, I’ve had to deem a lot of current movies/TV shows unwatchable simply because of this trend towards bland, cookie-cutter acting. I don’t really watch a lot of TV, probably, in comparison to the rest of the country/world, partially because my attention span won’t let me, but I still find myself getting bored with the actors (actors of all genders) on the screen these days. Granted, I do have my share of guilty-pleasure “bad” TV shows/movies I have watched/continue to watch, but when the characters really seem like over-makeupped cardboard cutouts, I find my tolerance level dropping for that sort of thing. When I know exactly what the actor is going to say next, verbatim, the predictability of the script makes me wince, and I find something else to have on in the background while I’m doing twenty other things. Plus, I don’t understand it when there’s a bunch of people that have crash-landed/been lost in the woods for days, or even weeks, or are trapped underground, ad nauseam, and somehow they manage to still have perfect hair, spotless clothes, and flawless makeup and nails–women and men, alike.

Plus, when all the characters look alike, talk alike, and sound alike–to the point where they seem to be Hollywood robots not real, flawed humans–it makes me wonder “Why not just have computer-generated actors?” if they are just going to deliver such rote performances. Or is Hollywood just readying us for the digital takeover?

I like new, I like change, and there are younger actors that give excellent performances (need I mention Natalie Portman in Leon/The Professional?) but give me the older actor, many classically trained, Shakespearean/stage actors that drifted into movies/television over this new style of bland, predictable version of acting. I’m not experienced enough to know whether it’s the actors, the directors, the scripts they have to present, or if it’s a combination of all of the above, but I just find it painful to watch.

Meanwhile, if and when I get disposable income, you’ll find me at the (stage) theatre, over the movie theatre. Or I’ll be at home (re)watching “Prime Suspect” (Helen Mirren and Zoe Wanamaker), Harold and Maude, or anything else with Alan Rickman, Ian McKellan, Morgan Freeman, Maggie Smith, Derek Jacobi, Shirley Henderson, Idris Elba, and Mandy Patinkin. (What other classic/classic performances have I missed? Got any recommendations to expand my cinematic/tv watching? Let me know…)

Author: The Chaos Realm

Copy Editor/Proofreader, Historian, Freelance Writer, Virtual Assistant.

7 thoughts on “New Movies=Bland Acting?”

Leave a Reply

