Favourite Book/Author among your 2014 reads?

Happy New Year, fellow bloggers and blog readers!

What’s been your favourite book/author/read of 2014 (feel free to include graphic novels/comic books/art books, etc.)? Share up in the comments below, and I’ll add them to my Goodreads “Want to Read” list! (I can’t pick just one, but my favourite was probably either Gotham: A History of New York City to 1898 by Edwin G. Burrows or Gyn/Ecology: The Metaethics of Radicial Feminism by Mary Daly or Suburban Legends: True Tales of Murder, Mayhem, and Minivans by Sam Stall.) If I time-travel to the future, it will be the wonderful pile of yet-to-read comic books/graphic novels I got: Buffy the Vampire Slayer, X-Men, Spider-Man, Tomb Raider, Wonder Woman, The Walking Dead, The Sandman, etc.

Hope you have many more literary and real-life adventures in 202515 (couldn’t resist a little “wibbly-wobbly timey-wimey” suggestively time travel/Doctor Who plug!)

Author: The Chaos Realm

Copy Editor/Proofreader, Historian, Freelance Writer, Virtual Assistant.

10 thoughts on “Favourite Book/Author among your 2014 reads?”

  1. Pl;ease Kill Me by Legs McNeil and Gillian McCain, Call Me Burroughs:A Life by Barry Miles and Just Kids by Patti Smith as novels and as Graphic Novels the last trilogy by Charles Burns ending with Sugar Skull. Ham and Rye is one of my all time favorite book as well as every poetry books by Bukowski.

  2. This is such a hard question to answer having read so many good books this year. I feel lucky to be around at this time as there are so many new and exciting books and authors coming out. I am a fantasy fan and within that genre my favourite type of fantasy is sword and magic so my selection for this would have to be Blood Song by Anthony Ryan, closely followed by either Emperors Blades by Brian Staveley or Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson.
    I hope you have a happy and prosperous 2015! Nairn

  3. I read How To Be A Woman but Caitlin Moran (witty, intelligent feminism) and the drama/comedy Where’d You Go Bernadette an easy read that’s a witty wild character study rather than a chick lit romance . I need to buy more graphic novels. Any you recommend that Joss Whedon has had some input to?

    1. Well, I’m not as well-read as I’d like to be in the world of comics (when compared to books), but I’ve wanted this Buffy Omnibus set at a local comic book store forever! I just picked up something called The Whedon Three Way that looks pretty good, but I also picked up Buffy season 10 #9 at Dark Side Comics here in town. Things are a little crazy so I haven’t had a good sit-down time period to even start reading them. 😦 (will add your suggestions to goodreads…anything feminist-related sounds great!) I started off reading JTHM when I first got into comics, but I also read Persepolis
      by Marjane Satrapi not too long ago… What are your favs in graphic novels/comics?

Leave a Reply

