Favourite Horror Films, aka Comedies…

When I was a kid, ten or eleven or so, I was introduced to the horror film genre through movies like Cujo and Alien (yes, even though it’s technically sci-fi, it was still spooky). Overall, I’m not really much of a fan of the genre…I liked horror stories/novels better back then, like Stephen King’s Thinner, Dean Koontz, and anything by Edgar Allen Poe. I don’t have that censorship-related, moral-high-ground bias against horror films, but I generally find them cheesy, not scary. Or outright hilarious, like Ginger Snaps. Or, they might not be technically considered horror films, but they had that spooky, atmospheric quality, or a level of unchecked violence, that was successful in being scary, in a way.

The only exception was the movie, Seven. (Morgan Freeman kicked ass in that movie.) That movie terrified me, I admit. I came home, and looked under the bed, in the closet, behind the shower curtain in the bathroom, and put a large kitchen knife within reach when I was finally able to go to sleep, after seeing it in the theatre.

Here’s some of the movies (and one TV show episode) that have remained my favourites/given me chills (or laughs) over the years.

  1. Carnival of Souls
  2. Seven
  3. Ginger Snaps
  4. Alien 
  5. Night of the Demons
  6. Cujo
  7. The Scream movies
  8. Clockwork Orange
  9. The Cell
  10. Instinct (because of the fate of the animals)
  11. The X-Files episode “Home”
Author: The Chaos Realm

Copy Editor/Proofreader, Historian, Freelance Writer, Virtual Assistant.

Leave a Reply

