My first “UFO” sighting…!

So, I just saw my first “UFO”! I was outside with my flashlight looking for the noisy critter out in the bamboo (it sounded like an animal or a bird had fallen out of the tree/bamboo and was hurt). I turned around because some bird, possibly a baby, got startled by all the noise and had started cheeping away on the nest high up in an oak tree. As I stood there looking up into the tree, and at the open sky, I saw a brilliant glowing white light zoom across the clear night sky very fast, in a perfectly straight, horizontal line, so fast it disappeared in a blink after zooming across the sky. I got really excited, and the first thing that popped into my head was “Holy Schnitzel, I just saw a UFO!” Then, I told myself to really think/review rationally about what I saw. So, when it was followed by a second glowing white orb I paid closer attention and didn’t let my excitement rule over logic. That’s when I realized the first UFO I had seen was an insect, lit to a brilliant glowing white fast-paced orb by my flashlight. Both the first and the second one really did look like they were high in the sky–like a white star that moved really fast in a straight line–just like the first one–and “disappeared” when it flew out of the range of my flashlight. It really did fool even me, tricked me into believing it was some sort of UFO–the optical illusion was totally believable. (But they really were flying bugs, not flying saucers, sadly.) Maybe one possible explanation for some of the UFO sightings out there! Bugs lit up by flashlights or headlights, especially headlights on bright for dark, poorly lit/country roads.

Author: The Chaos Realm

Copy Editor/Proofreader, Historian, Freelance Writer, Virtual Assistant.

Leave a Reply

